Bike Envy

I’ve got four road bikes. My wife thinks I only need one…I think I could probably do with four more!

I got myself a new bike last year. It’s a carbon Felt F4. A couple of months later I started thinking about my next machine. Most cyclists are on the look out for the ‘next bike.’ My personal ambition is to get titanium. Walking to work each morning a couple cycle past me. Actually they purr past. The’ve got Van Nicholas titaniums. Beautiful machines with campag. Classy. When I see them I get ‘bike envy.’ What I like about titanium is that it’s a bike for all seasons. It seems to have the comfort of steel and also a little stiffness for a fast ride. In our club the guys ride them winter and summer. I love the Mistral model with its thin classic tubing and the fact that it’s fitted with Sram, a group set I’ve never tried. (The double click shifters intrigue me).

Van Nicholas You Will Be Mine

With a daughter travelling abroad for the year the purchase will need to be deferred (children are so unreasonable). However I have opened negotiations. Fellow club riders know what’s involved in negotiations.

  • Stage 1 Outright Refusal (you’re not getting a new bike)
  • Stage 2 Silent Tolerance (your wife does not launch into anti-bike tirade but watches TV silently as you oohh and ahh at the frames in Cycling monthly)
  • Stage 3 The If Discussion (if you get a new bike then x,y,z must happen)
  • Stage 4 Reluctant Acceptance (discussion is prefaced with the phrase ‘when you get this bloody new bike’)
  • Stage 5 Agreement Principle (Right you can get this bike in the autumn)
  • None of the 5 stages apply to Ian Harkness who has a ‘stable’ of bikes and can be hired as a negotiator for some of those new to road cycling.

Our club has several female cyclists. I’d love to know if the negotiation process is the same for them!

I fancy this Moser bike for the club runs

I’m happy with my bikes. The Felt is a great fit and the gun metal Ultegra group set is really reliable. I’m not a big fan of the double but the frame is nice and stiff. My light steel Tommasini is Italian with a 50-40-30 – a great spinning bike. Anything Italian in cycling is cool. It’s so classic I think that if it could speak it would probably say ‘Cazzo di budda -Why have I got this fat arsed chav spoiling my style!’

Although I have some good bikes it most definitely does not prevent bike envy especially regarding my fellow cyclist’s machines. Here’s my top 5 of Bike Envy in the Dumfries CC peloton

  • 5. Cube – the bike I wish I’d bought; modern thick tubing with a blaze of colour and decals which harmonise the whole frame.
  • 4. Wilier – No top 5 of bike envy would be complete without Italian sophistication. I love the clunk of the campag drivetrain.
  • 3. Cervélo -No disrespect but Canada makes great frames??? Believe it. The wishbone stays look great. Vroomen!
  • 2. Storck – classy in every department, smooth and elegant. I always feel kind of inferior when this machine cruises by me.
  • 1. Look – I mentioned this bike in other posts. The chic French pip the Italians in sheer coolness with the Look. The Look ‘pour les branchés’

    Look = envy

2 thoughts on “Bike Envy

  1. I’ve just bought a Mekk Poggio P2 (I love the fact that spell check is struggling with the name :). )
    My first proper bike, real sexy looking an faaaaaaasssssstttt !!
    Where would my ride be on your wish list….?

    I think it’s awesome that cycling taking off strongly – are you n your club riding the ‘ride London ‘ event ???

Leave a Reply

